IFSP welcomes a new President

7th July 2023 • Articles & PRs, News

Nick Captur, a director at Deloitte Malta, has been elected IFSP President. He takes over the position from Tonio Zarb, who has held the position for the past two years. Mr Zarb had previously been the President of the IFSP in the mid-1990s. Mr Captur, who acted as the Institute’s Vice President for the past four years has also been an active member since 2007.

The IFSP’s AGM, held on 4 July, elected a new Council which met for the first time on 6 July 2023, and elected Nick Captur as President, with Wayne Pisan i taking on the role of Vice President. Rosanne Bonnici remains Honorary Secretary of the IFSP, while Chris Curmi continues to fill the position of Treasurer of the Institute

The new Council for 2023/24 sees Juanita Bencini step down after 16 years work on Council. Ms Bencini served as Chair of the PMLFT subcommittee and was also President of the IFSP between 2015 and 2019. Council also welcomed Simon Xuereb, a partner at KPMG as a new Council member.

The newly elected Council thanked Mr Zarb for his active and highly effective leadership over the past two years, navigating the Institute through the many, sometimes difficult changes in the financial services sector with skill and diplomacy in the best interest of both practitioners and the country.

The full list of Council members for 2021/22 is:

Nick Captur, President; Wayne Pisani, Vice President and Chair, Standards sub-committee; Rosanne Bonnici, Honorary Secretary; Chris Curmi, Treasurer; Simon Xuereb; Stephen Attard; Etienne Borg Cardona; Mirko Rapa; Juanita Brockdorff; Andre Zerafa; Andrew Zammit; Chris Naudi; Joseph Ghio; Neville Gatt; Robert Attard; and Tonio Zarb.